Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26-02-2010, 12:10 PM   #31
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
Maybe it's magic.
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 12:25 PM   #32
Phill
 
Phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06 December 2003
Location: Cornwall
Age: 33
Facebook icon Flickr icon
blame the wizard
__________________
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 12:33 PM   #33
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
nah I have EMGs
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:03 PM   #34
Phil.
Banned
 
Join Date: 01 August 2009
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 25
fuuuuuuuuuu

I went to Bucks New Uni on wednesday for my interview for audio and music production.

oh my fucking life their studio is amazing! Its one of the best equipped in the UK if not Europe Part of their newly opened 60 million facility!

6 different control rooms with a variety of equipment, and another 6 or so live rooms which have all been engineered by some of the best in the world at designing recording studios, and in the main mixing room, they have a fucking 55,000 control interface

Then 100+ iMacs all dedicated to the A&M tech students, all running Protools LE/HD and all the main studio Macs running Pro tools 8 HD.

They had shit loads of outboard hardware too, Loads of focusrite and sennhiser gear. Its insane!

Really can't wait to go there now, I got in, so now I just need to sit through another few weeks of shit education and the summer
Phil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:12 PM   #35
svenBliss
Banned
 
svenBliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 October 2009
Location: stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Factor545 View Post
fuuuuuuuuuu

I went to Bucks New Uni on wednesday for my interview for audio and music production.

oh my fucking life their studio is amazing! Its one of the best equipped in the UK if not Europe Part of their newly opened 60 million facility!

6 different control rooms with a variety of equipment, and another 6 or so live rooms which have all been engineered by some of the best in the world at designing recording studios, and in the main mixing room, they have a fucking 55,000 control interface

Then 100+ iMacs all dedicated to the A&M tech students, all running Protools LE/HD and all the main studio Macs running Pro tools 8 HD.

They had shit loads of outboard hardware too, Loads of focusrite and sennhiser gear. Its insane!

Really can't wait to go there now, I got in, so now I just need to sit through another few weeks of shit education and the summer
oohhh congratulations! it sounds amazing! you must post pictures!
svenBliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:22 PM   #36
Phil.
Banned
 
Join Date: 01 August 2009
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 25
Give me 6 months or so and I will

Im really interested in the actual course too, there are optional modules in the second and third year, one of which is lighting for live events and stuff
Phil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:34 PM   #37
lily93
Member
 
Join Date: 12 November 2009
Age: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenBliss View Post
oohhh congratulations! it sounds amazing! you must post pictures!
What type of outboard?

UA/Teletronix?

Neve/API pres?

YUMYUM
lily93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:37 PM   #38
Phil.
Banned
 
Join Date: 01 August 2009
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 25
Surely you should have quoted me?

I didn't get a decent look at any of the gear because it was through the viewing windows and from a distance, I just so shit loads of blinking lights in racks and VU metres
Phil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:42 PM   #39
svenBliss
Banned
 
svenBliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 October 2009
Location: stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by lily93 View Post
What type of outboard?

UA/Teletronix?

Neve/API pres?

YUMYUM
Which concert was it we went to see?
svenBliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 05:53 PM   #40
lily93
Member
 
Join Date: 12 November 2009
Age: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenBliss View Post
Which concert was it we went to see?
wutttt
lily93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2010, 06:03 PM   #41
the_man361
Most Talented+Helpful 08!
 
the_man361's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 August 2004
Location: Leeds
Age: 30
Send a message via MSN to the_man361
Facebook icon Twitter icon You Tube icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
I'm not explaining this very well. Have you never heard an unsigned band demo on the radio that sounds good but still sounds like a demo? Like my band's demos (the no logo stuff) we put so much effort into getting them right, and I absolutely love the sounds, and I think the mix is great, but if you put one on after a "proper" album, they sound like demos. So not really to do with a "bad" mix or a bad performance, but I don't know what it is to do with. Is it just some sort of feeling I personally have?

The creep joint album, i've worked on to the point where to me it sounds like a real album as opposed to a demo, and that feels like a massive achievement. How did I do it? Was it just the sheer amount of time put in to the mix and master? Spooky.
ah, mixing for radio ready play is quite a different game, harder to do.
__________________


the_man361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 12:12 PM   #42
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
I've just got my hands on a nice PC. It's of considerably better specification than my current recording rig. I have XP on it at the moment, but as it has a 64bit CPU i'm considering installing XP64 or Win7 (I have both).

Will I see any improvement in Cubase SX3? Or is there a new 64bit version of Cubase which I need?
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 12:19 PM   #43
haze015
MANBEEF!!!!1!1!1!322$!!
 
haze015's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 March 2003
Location: I am a MAN, not a girl or a girl pretending to be a man
Age: 30
Facebook icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
I've just got my hands on a nice PC. It's of considerably better specification than my current recording rig. I have XP on it at the moment, but as it has a 64bit CPU i'm considering installing XP64 or Win7 (I have both).

Will I see any improvement in Cubase SX3? Or is there a new 64bit version of Cubase which I need?
You need a new version of Cubase for 64 bit, but there are lots of issues with 64 bit, need to check your plugins and things all work for it.
__________________
Haze smells! << (OMGZ, HACK BY BEWILDERS)
stuff on spotify
haze015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 12:28 PM   #44
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
The other thing is I have 4Gb of RAM in this and 32bit OSs only see 3Gb. Would SX3 benefit from seeing 4Gb?

I can run SX3 on XP64 though surely? You're just saying there'll be no advantage over XP?
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 12:40 PM   #45
Dramatic Hammer
Legendary Swordsman
 
Join Date: 24 August 2003
Send a message via MSN to Dramatic Hammer
Facebook icon MySpace icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
The other thing is I have 4Gb of RAM in this and 32bit OSs only see 3Gb. Would SX3 benefit from seeing 4Gb?

I can run SX3 on XP64 though surely? You're just saying there'll be no advantage over XP?
I would run 64bit 7. You will get the processor/ram advantage and you can run programs in 32bit compatibility mode.
In fact whilst you're at it, why not just get Cubase 5?
__________________
Dramatic Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dicks rubin , mic choice , mic placement , recording , ric chosty


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General Luthiery Thread Phill Kit & Tab 9761 08-12-2017 08:11 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)