Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 19-03-2010, 12:35 PM   #781
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
Send volume is useful for driving pedals in the loop? It's not good for matching the level of your loop with clean. You use the blend for that.
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2010, 04:38 PM   #782
Phil.
Banned
 
Join Date: 01 August 2009
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 26
Yeah the send volume wouldnt have the same effect when the pedals are engaged as when they aren't, Say you have an overdrive in the loop, if you turn down the send knob, it wouldn't lower the volume, only "weaken" so to speak, the signal prior to the drive pedal, which when it is engaged, would only have a weaker drive to it as apose to being quieter...

I think that makes sense...
Phil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2010, 12:15 AM   #783
~Tom
Member
 
~Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06 October 2008
Location: Liverpool
Age: 27
Flickr icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Tom View Post
I'm looking to pop this into my fender '72 thinline telecaster. I'm looking to get a local guitar hopefully to set it up for me, however, does anyone know whether they're compatible i.e. if I would need to alter any other electronics within the guitar. If not does anyone know how I would be able to tell these things? /bad electronics newb (hence why I'm looking to get a shop to set it up for me).

Cheers.
Anyone? ;_;
~Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2010, 01:07 AM   #784
james90
boring_moderator
 
james90's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 March 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 28
anyone familiar with power conditioners? I know I saw a few people with them in their setups.

my amp is acting odd, and my tech thinks it's because of RF interference ... and a power conditioner might help. I don't know.
__________________
6 August 2007 - Madison Square Garden
5 March 2010 - Madison Square Garden
23 October 2010 - Nassau Coliseum
15 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
16 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
25 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
26 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
8 May 2015 - Webster Hall
27 January 2016 - Barclays Center
29 January 2016 - Prudential Center
22 July 2017 - Jones Beach
24 July 2017 - Central Park
james90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2010, 08:23 AM   #785
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
I was reading this yesterday about power conditioners. It's generally not positive, but perhaps the mains is slightly more "dirty" in the states?
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2010, 08:33 PM   #786
the_man361
Most Talented+Helpful 08!
 
the_man361's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 August 2004
Location: Leeds
Age: 30
Send a message via MSN to the_man361
Facebook icon Twitter icon You Tube icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by james90 View Post
anyone familiar with power conditioners? I know I saw a few people with them in their setups.

my amp is acting odd, and my tech thinks it's because of RF interference ... and a power conditioner might help. I don't know.
i have a power conditioner, but i mainly use it as a means to distribute power (it has 8 IEC outs meaning i only need to plug in the conditioner, rather than all my rack gear), rather than being paranoid about 'dirty' power.

im fairly sure that amps are made to work fine with a wide range of voltages, much wider than you would get from a dirty power source, so you shouldnt need one for voltage regulation imo.

my bassist has a little current limiting box... his amp is a crate audio rackmounted poweramp.. in shitty venues, when he turns it on it will often trip their power by pulling too much current too quick. the box stops it drawing too much current too fast
__________________



Last edited by the_man361; 28-03-2010 at 08:39 PM.
the_man361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:43 AM   #787
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 30
Muse.mu icon
two questions:

firstly, i've a daisy chain for my pedals, that has 5 chained outputs. However, in about a day, i'll have a new pedal built and i'll need more than 5 dc jacks. Can i just get another one of those 5 chain things and add it to the end (so there's 9 outputs from 1 DC adaptor) or do i need to get a second DC adaptor thing?

Secondly, I never really use octave up on my whammy, and there's a very simple reason why. It's a bit too glitchy for my liking. Is this normal, or is there a reason for it? i left my whammy down in student accom, but random theories of mine include things like too much input into it (i'm using high output pickups, roll back volume a bit?), or that i'm using an american DC jack powered off a US>UK adaptor.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:00 PM   #788
Russell_A
 
Join Date: 09 May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil. View Post
Secondly, I never really use octave up on my whammy, and there's a very simple reason why. It's a bit too glitchy for my liking. Is this normal, or is there a reason for it? i left my whammy down in student accom, but random theories of mine include things like too much input into it (i'm using high output pickups, roll back volume a bit?), or that i'm using an american DC jack powered off a US>UK adaptor.
Firstly, i'd change the adaptor to the UK one,

Then try:

Guitar---effects----EHX attenuator---Whammy----EHX LPB-----Amp

The things in red are the things you'd need to add, however...

Whammy's are all glitchy...
just depends how much so...
Russell_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:47 PM   #789
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 30
Muse.mu icon
shouldnt it be:
guitar > attenuator > whammy > lpb > effects?

i thought whammy was meant to go right at the start...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 03:12 PM   #790
Russell_A
 
Join Date: 09 May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil. View Post
shouldnt it be:
guitar > attenuator > whammy > lpb > effects?

i thought whammy was meant to go right at the start...
whatever, I don't know where a whammy goes... *cue Chedda with an imaginative rap*

But yea...
Russell_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 03:53 PM   #791
Phill
 
Phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06 December 2003
Location: Cornwall
Age: 33
Facebook icon Flickr icon
the whammy is always going to be glitchy. i run mine after distortion and fine it smooths it out a bit. it's down to preference.
__________________
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 04:42 PM   #792
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 30
Muse.mu icon
so do you go OD > Whammy > Fuzz
or
OD > Fuzz > Whammy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 04:58 PM   #793
Russell_A
 
Join Date: 09 May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil. View Post
so do you go OD > Whammy > Fuzz
or
OD > Fuzz > Whammy
Esperiment....
Russell_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:23 PM   #794
Phil.
Banned
 
Join Date: 01 August 2009
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell_A View Post
Esperiment....
brilliant
Phil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 09:53 AM   #795
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
you might find it's less glitchy after distortion, and if so it might be worth getting a limiter to put in a loop with the whammy, as that will have the same compressing effect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell_A View Post
whatever, I don't know where a whammy goes... *cue Chedda with an imaginative rap*

But yea...
One of the best parts of growing up, is learning about your whammy
Whether it's thin or fat their similarities are uncanny
How to plug it in, what order, whether to show your granny
If it's fat with a MIDI in you belong to a new order of jammy

Lack of belief in one's whammy can produce romantic rejection
Before long, instead of women, you're fucking your whammy collection!
If you take it to a damp place you'll have to use protection
You dirty fucker, i'm talking about whammies, stop imagining my erection!
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ashton wah , bass , feedback problems , fuzz factory , gear issues , guitar , kit and tab , midi , mounting , p90 , piano , problems , questions , quick questions , screw


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)