Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 16-07-2010, 08:05 PM   #16
Liam511
Member
 
Liam511's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 April 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Facebook icon You Tube icon
think this guy might have taken it too far though:

__________________
Liam511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:09 PM   #17
Cheesymittens
Dukcs
 
Cheesymittens's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01 March 2009
Location: Britania
Send a message via MSN to Cheesymittens
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Slide up and down the strings??????
Sliding? What is this I don't even?
No as in lower or higher, so if you're on the sixth string surely you're going to have to detune the guitar, and then tune it up again? And the same if you was on the first string and then wanted to go higher? So it kind of works like an all way octave pedal inside the guitar..
__________________
Fukcing Dukcs
Cheesymittens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:13 PM   #18
W.Bruce
Member
 
W.Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26 October 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesymittens View Post
Sliding? What is this I don't even?
No as in lower or higher, so if you're on the sixth string surely you're going to have to detune the guitar, and then tune it up again? And the same if you was on the first string and then wanted to go higher? So it kind of works like an all way octave pedal inside the guitar..
You can use a resistive MIDI strip to control a DigiTech Whammy.


Matt and Manson did it.
W.Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:16 PM   #19
Cheesymittens
Dukcs
 
Cheesymittens's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01 March 2009
Location: Britania
Send a message via MSN to Cheesymittens
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Same View Post
You can use a resistive MIDI strip to control a DigiTech Whammy.


Matt and Manson did it.
Problem is I'm not really that well informed with MIDI strips and such. I mean, if I knew how they worked then I'll maybe go and get one.
And on that note I'm going to go Google.
Oh and I thought MIDI went into the computer? So I'm sure that's going to be quite a lot for the software and such involved..
__________________
Fukcing Dukcs
Cheesymittens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:19 PM   #20
haze015
MANBEEF!!!!1!1!1!322$!!
 
haze015's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 March 2003
Location: I am a MAN, not a girl or a girl pretending to be a man
Age: 31
Facebook icon SoundCloud icon
Pickups and a volume control and wood.


I love using my pedals with all sorts of different sources, synths, samplers, vocals, bass, drums... all sorts of fun to be had there.
__________________
Haze smells! << (OMGZ, HACK BY BEWILDERS)
stuff on spotify
haze015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:19 PM   #21
W.Bruce
Member
 
W.Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26 October 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesymittens View Post
Problem is I'm not really that well informed with MIDI strips and such. I mean, if I knew how they worked then I'll maybe go and get one.
And on that note I'm going to go Google.
Oh and I thought MIDI went into the computer? So I'm sure that's going to be quite a lot for the software and such involved..
No, the DigiTech has a MIDI IN port. You can connect your MIDI controller directly to the whammy.


EDIT: A voice controlled guitar would be cool, useless, but cool.
W.Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:24 PM   #22
Cheesymittens
Dukcs
 
Cheesymittens's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01 March 2009
Location: Britania
Send a message via MSN to Cheesymittens
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Same View Post
No, the DigiTech has a MIDI IN port. You can connect your MIDI controller directly to the whammy.


EDIT: A voice controlled guitar would be cool, useless, but cool.
Urgh this is so confusing.
I seem to remember everything about MIDI's one day and forget it the next.
Thanks for your help! =D
Just one last thing though, the MIDI does it directly through a cable or wha?
Sorry... =/
__________________
Fukcing Dukcs
Cheesymittens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:28 PM   #23
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 31
Muse.mu icon
i could see myself using a clean pitch shifter. There's very few properly clean ones out there, but, if you had a hexophonic pickup, you can have 6 seperate clean pitch shifters using frequency-voltage circuits. So yeah, if i had a rotary switch for clean +/- octaves, i'd definitely use that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:31 PM   #24
W.Bruce
Member
 
W.Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26 October 2009
Yes. You "only" have to solder your MIDI strip onto a (?9-pin?) MIDI jack which will come out of your guitar. Then simply use a cable to connect with the wahmmy.


There is probably some programing involved, I'm not sure. If you really want to do this it's probably easier to contact gazlang. He sells complete MIDI strip kits. At least he used to.
W.Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:34 PM   #25
Cheesymittens
Dukcs
 
Cheesymittens's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01 March 2009
Location: Britania
Send a message via MSN to Cheesymittens
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Same View Post
Yes. You "only" have to solder your MIDI strip onto a (?9-pin?) MIDI jack which will come out of your guitar. Then simply use a cable to connect with the wahmmy.


There is probably some programing involved, I'm not sure. If you really want to do this it's probably easier to contact gazlang. He sells complete MIDI strip kits. At least he used to.
Hey thanks!

I won't trouble you anymore XD
__________________
Fukcing Dukcs
Cheesymittens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:38 PM   #26
Tom!
72.8% water
 
Tom!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 October 2006
Location: Lincoln, UK
Age: 28
Send a message via MSN to Tom!
Facebook icon Twitter icon Xbox Live icon SoundCloud icon
You have to attach the strip to a micro controller which then outputs midi messages.
__________________
04/11/2009 - Sheffield Arena
04/09/2010 - Manchester CCC
26/08/2011 - Leeds Festival
01/11/2012 - MEN Arena
01/06/2013 - Etihad Statidum

Quote:
Originally Posted by james90 View Post
Just was playing that guitar, and i think a pickup change is in order. you know something's wrong when a guitar makes an OR120 sound as thin as green screen kid looks...
Tom! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2010, 08:40 PM   #27
W.Bruce
Member
 
W.Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26 October 2009
No problem. But I'm not sure if it'll live up to your expectations. You'll need plenty of sustain probably.

EDIT: Oh yeah, what Tom said.
W.Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2010, 12:51 AM   #28
Braun
Member
 
Braun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 January 2010
Age: 32
In a next guitar, I would think putting a BoxOfRock or SuperDuper diy (edit : Distortron is a good peddle ?)... But, why not, a Fuzz Face, slightly modified. Not as a Fuzz Face that would become a F-Factory, but a little less.

Ohh and in the current MoC-Bass, I didn't put-in anything .. but I'll think about it anyway. :P
Braun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2010, 02:51 AM   #29
gunnerthekiwi
Moa
 
gunnerthekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 September 2007
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by haze015 View Post
Pickups and a volume control and wood.


I love using my pedals with all sorts of different sources, synths, samplers, vocals, bass, drums... all sorts of fun to be had there.
This. Both points.
__________________
[
gunnerthekiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2010, 08:18 AM   #30
Foxpaw
Vulpes vulpes
 
Foxpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 November 2004
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Age: 32
Varitone, sustainer.
__________________
Hire a kitty today for your band!
Foxpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
whammies , whammy


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)