Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26-01-2011, 03:12 AM   #91
mr schmoo
Member
 
mr schmoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 January 2008
Ah k thanks, makes a lot more sense now, are they're any recommended audio interfaces or is it just up to me? And I've tried the direct line in way haha, but using a friends crappy ipod headphone mic gave me better results :P

So you reckon I could get the same results and save a bunch by plugging it straight into a DAW and boosting the gain? Hmmmm

And are usb mics any good, or should I just stick to the mic to audio interface path?

Last edited by mr schmoo; 26-01-2011 at 05:32 AM.
mr schmoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2011, 08:57 AM   #92
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
USB mics are a mic and audio interface all in one. I don't think you could record more than one at once, but if you just need one channel, go for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humphrey Goldenbollocks View Post
You don't need a mic pre as such, there are gain plugins available for free which you can use to raise the gain of the signal within a DAW.
Are they any good? Are you really suggesting that I could make an XLR to mini-jack plug and record some guitar through a 57 into my on-board soundcard, and it'd sound good?
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2011, 08:03 PM   #93
haze015
MANBEEF!!!!1!1!1!322$!!
 
haze015's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 March 2003
Location: I am a MAN, not a girl or a girl pretending to be a man
Age: 31
Facebook icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
Are they any good? Are you really suggesting that I could make an XLR to mini-jack plug and record some guitar through a 57 into my on-board soundcard, and it'd sound good?
I've not tried it with microphones, but if I DI guitar, I won't add any gain from a preamp and use Sonalksis Free G, as some amp sims like a loud signal, some work better not doing anything and if I wanted to run out to a guitar amp, adding 20dB of gain will result in a massively hot signal going to the amp... seems pointless adding it just to take it away afterwards!
__________________
Haze smells! << (OMGZ, HACK BY BEWILDERS)
stuff on spotify
haze015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 09:09 AM   #94
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
what soundcard is that? A mac?

EDIT: I'm just worried about the "sound" of it. All of the onboard soundcards i've used in that way have been shit.
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 12:19 PM   #95
Crowella
Will fap for food
 
Crowella's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 August 2007
Location: Syd City 2000
Age: 28
Send a message via MSN to Crowella Send a message via Skype™ to Crowella
Facebook icon Twitter icon SoundCloud icon reddit icon
What I should be getting off a friend to quickly whip up something soon. I've used it before and it's great.



I use it after my amp preamp and I am pretty happy with the sound of the recordings too. Alternatively I can mic my amp up but I generally don't like that with the amount of noise around.
__________________
Valko
Our father, Who art in Strymon, Metal Zone be thy name; Thy toan will come; Your klon be done; On stage as it is in bedroom. Give us this day our daily song. And give us our telecasters, as we forgive those that cannot impress us. And lead us not unto buffers, but deliver us true bypass.

For thy toan, the BigSky, and the morning glory are yours for now and for ever.
Crowella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 07:25 PM   #96
haze015
MANBEEF!!!!1!1!1!322$!!
 
haze015's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 March 2003
Location: I am a MAN, not a girl or a girl pretending to be a man
Age: 31
Facebook icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
what soundcard is that? A mac?

EDIT: I'm just worried about the "sound" of it. All of the onboard soundcards i've used in that way have been shit.
I use a Profire 610. No idea about on board soundcards!
__________________
Haze smells! << (OMGZ, HACK BY BEWILDERS)
stuff on spotify
haze015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 08:02 PM   #97
Monkeychild
Member
 
Join Date: 19 March 2003
Location: Hainault in Essex
Age: 35
Send a message via AIM to Monkeychild
Home recording help

hi all, so i've heard audio from a lot of you and, is it all done at home? And if so how do you all make it sound so good and unflawed? is it just expensive equipment?

I normally plug my guitar into the interface and record that way, but i know some mic up an amp. What's the best way?
What sort of equipment will i need to make it sound crisp and clear? I'm guessing some kind of mixing desk?
Anything else?

Also, I don't have a band because i'm lame. What are drum sequencers like? What's an ideal one I should buy to be able to get some decent beats?
Monkeychild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 08:09 PM   #98
james90
boring_moderator
 
james90's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 March 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 28
There's a general recording thread one thread below this.

I prefer mic'ing amps...doesn't sound quite the same direct. It's just different really. What are you using now exactly?

my recording setup is pretty boring, but I think I get some decent sounds out of it. You need a good interface, mics, and the mics positioned properly to begin with... I think?? then there's the software....can't really comment on that, since I haven't even figured out most of logic yet
__________________
6 August 2007 - Madison Square Garden
5 March 2010 - Madison Square Garden
23 October 2010 - Nassau Coliseum
15 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
16 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
25 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
26 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
8 May 2015 - Webster Hall
27 January 2016 - Barclays Center
29 January 2016 - Prudential Center
22 July 2017 - Jones Beach
24 July 2017 - Central Park
james90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 08:44 AM   #99
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humphrey Goldenbollocks View Post
I use a Profire 610. No idea about on board soundcards!
In that case I would suggest Mr Schmoo does need an interface with at least one pre.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crowella View Post
Alternatively I can mic my amp up but I generally don't like that with the amount of noise around.
That sounds bad, do you live next to a motorway?!?
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 12:57 PM   #100
Crowella
Will fap for food
 
Crowella's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 August 2007
Location: Syd City 2000
Age: 28
Send a message via MSN to Crowella Send a message via Skype™ to Crowella
Facebook icon Twitter icon SoundCloud icon reddit icon
Try dogs that never shut up, Trees being cut down by neighbours, neighbour with workshop, the odd truck every hour that can rattle the house, being near a pool filter, loud air conditioners, brother who has his music up way too loud and loud mothers

Mind you, I put the amp real quiet when recording anyway just so I don't make too much noise either. It's just my room/garage. Most concerns I have with noise are generally vocal recordings anyway and when that happens, just try the bathroom.
__________________
Valko
Our father, Who art in Strymon, Metal Zone be thy name; Thy toan will come; Your klon be done; On stage as it is in bedroom. Give us this day our daily song. And give us our telecasters, as we forgive those that cannot impress us. And lead us not unto buffers, but deliver us true bypass.

For thy toan, the BigSky, and the morning glory are yours for now and for ever.
Crowella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 12:59 PM   #101
mr schmoo
Member
 
mr schmoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 January 2008
Well I'm most likely getting a usb mic, anyone got any suggestions?

And the drummer in my band wants just 2 mics for recording drums, if we have 2 usb mics can you use them both simultaneously on the same program, since they both have their own independant soundcards? or would he have to get an audio interface?
mr schmoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 01:46 PM   #102
Russell_A
 
Join Date: 09 May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crowella View Post
Try dogs that never shut up, Trees being cut down by neighbours, neighbour with workshop, the odd truck every hour that can rattle the house, being near a pool filter, loud air conditioners, brother who has his music up way too loud and loud mothers

Mind you, I put the amp real quiet when recording anyway just so I don't make too much noise either. It's just my room/garage. Most concerns I have with noise are generally vocal recordings anyway and when that happens, just try the bathroom.
Isolation cab?


also...
So, What interface would you guys recommend for general recording of an amp?
2 inputs ideally but 1 would be fine too...
Russell_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 02:07 PM   #103
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crowella View Post
...I put the amp real quiet when recording anyway...
There'syour problem really. Amps never sound good at low levels anyway. Record it at a half decent level and you immidiately get rid of most of your noise (you are mic'ing right next to the speakers right?).

To be fair, for vocals, acoustic performances etc. I really empathise - it's kind of impossible to do it in most homes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr schmoo View Post
Well I'm most likely getting a usb mic, anyone got any suggestions?

And the drummer in my band wants just 2 mics for recording drums, if we have 2 usb mics can you use them both simultaneously on the same program, since they both have their own independant soundcards? or would he have to get an audio interface?
It will depend on the mics. I've no idea, but I doubt you could use more than one at once.
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 06:28 PM   #104
Russell_A
 
Join Date: 09 May 2009
anyone?
Russell_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 06:54 PM   #105
haze015
MANBEEF!!!!1!1!1!322$!!
 
haze015's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 March 2003
Location: I am a MAN, not a girl or a girl pretending to be a man
Age: 31
Facebook icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crowella View Post
Try dogs that never shut up, Trees being cut down by neighbours, neighbour with workshop, the odd truck every hour that can rattle the house, being near a pool filter, loud air conditioners, brother who has his music up way too loud and loud mothers

Mind you, I put the amp real quiet when recording anyway just so I don't make too much noise either. It's just my room/garage. Most concerns I have with noise are generally vocal recordings anyway and when that happens, just try the bathroom.


You need to learn how to use microphones... appropriate polar pattern, placement and so on.
__________________
Haze smells! << (OMGZ, HACK BY BEWILDERS)
stuff on spotify
haze015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dicks rubin , mic choice , mic placement , recording , ric chosty


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General Luthiery Thread Phill Kit & Tab 9763 09-06-2018 05:06 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)