Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 21-06-2012, 12:52 AM   #46
Dave
and The Ladz
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 December 2010
Location: Limerick/Waterford, Ireland
Age: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave
Facebook icon Twitter icon SoundCloud icon
Its as simple as this. It would sound terrible. A MIDI controlled whammy is still a physical guitar pedal which runs into genuine effects and amps wg
which we all know sounds good. Running the whole thing through a computer is just asking for terrible digital tone.
__________________
Check out my new EP HERE!

[soundcloud]https://soundcloud.com/jpto/sets/to-create-a-greater-reality-vicus[/soundcloud]
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2012, 01:36 AM   #47
StandYourGround
Member
 
StandYourGround's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 May 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
Its as simple as this. It would sound terrible. A MIDI controlled whammy is still a physical guitar pedal which runs into genuine effects and amps wg
which we all know sounds good. Running the whole thing through a computer is just asking for terrible digital tone.
But all the cubase session is doing is acting as a backing track and sending MIDI commands to the Whammy. Its just controlling it, not actually entering the signal path. No actual audio ever runs through the session from the guitar. Unless of course you mic up your amp and record the thing/
StandYourGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2012, 01:43 AM   #48
Kueller917
Funniest Muser 2013
 
Kueller917's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 April 2009
Location: US
Age: 23
Twitter icon You Tube icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by StandYourGround View Post
Unless of course you mic up your amp and record the thing/
Maybe that's what they did?
__________________
12/11/2009 - NSSN | 4/14/2010 - Oracle | 8/13/2011 - Outside Lands
1/28/2013 - Oracle | 12/15/2015 - Oracle | 12/18/2015 - Staples

Kueller917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2012, 07:51 AM   #49
Tom!
72.8% water
 
Tom!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 October 2006
Location: Lincoln, UK
Age: 26
Send a message via MSN to Tom!
Facebook icon Twitter icon Xbox Live icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
Its as simple as this. It would sound terrible. A MIDI controlled whammy is still a physical guitar pedal which runs into genuine effects and amps wg
which we all know sounds good. Running the whole thing through a computer is just asking for terrible digital tone.
Not true at all! I can do MOTP live using Guitar Rig and I bet you it sounds better than if it was done with a whammy pedal.
__________________
04/11/2009 - Sheffield Arena
04/09/2010 - Manchester CCC
26/08/2011 - Leeds Festival
01/11/2012 - MEN Arena
01/06/2013 - Etihad Statidum

Quote:
Originally Posted by james90 View Post
Just was playing that guitar, and i think a pickup change is in order. you know something's wrong when a guitar makes an OR120 sound as thin as green screen kid looks...
Tom! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2012, 11:23 PM   #50
Mobius
Part Cardiac
 
Mobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 June 2006
Location: St. Elsewhere
Age: 27
Twitter icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom! View Post
Not true at all! I can do MOTP live using Guitar Rig and I bet you it sounds better than if it was done with a whammy pedal.
I have seen how to do that patch in guitar rig and it does sound fantastic. I guess with the polyphonic whammy you may have a chance to get close to it.
__________________
Mobius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 03:16 PM   #51
StandYourGround
Member
 
StandYourGround's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 May 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 22
Speaking of MIDI controlled Whammy pedals, a thought came into my head the other day. Why don't they just have their midi loop switching gear and other digital stuff controlled using a DAW like MoTP does with the whammy. They'd just run the MIDI commands alongside the click tracks/backing tracks and neither them or their techs would have to worry about changing between different sounds. They could even do automation. Volume swells, slowly bringing up the level of a reverb etc. All without anyone having to touch anything.
StandYourGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 11:41 AM   #52
Dave
and The Ladz
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 December 2010
Location: Limerick/Waterford, Ireland
Age: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave
Facebook icon Twitter icon SoundCloud icon
Because Matt actually uses a pitch shifter in his rack for Motp so doing that would require an entire overhaul of a rig that works perfectly as it is.
__________________
Check out my new EP HERE!

[soundcloud]https://soundcloud.com/jpto/sets/to-create-a-greater-reality-vicus[/soundcloud]
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 02:50 PM   #53
Dominic.
Member
 
Dominic.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 31 January 2008
Age: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
Because Matt actually uses a pitch shifter in his rack for Motp so doing that would require an entire overhaul of a rig that works perfectly as it is.
Well of course it would require an overhaul. Doesn't change the fact that it's still an (appealing) possibility
Dominic. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 03:11 PM   #54
StandYourGround
Member
 
StandYourGround's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 May 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
Because Matt actually uses a pitch shifter in his rack for Motp so doing that would require an entire overhaul of a rig that works perfectly as it is.
Not really, as long as the Whammy doesn't require the same MIDI channel as the loop switcher, it shouldn't be a problem. I think that's maybe why he hasn't done it yet.
I was trying to figure out how I'd run my rig+loop switcher with MIDI commands and it would work as long as my M13 and the loop switcher (would be a Voodoo Lab gcx in this case) were operating on different MIDI channels. The GCX only accepts MIDI channel 16. While muse don't use these particular switchers, they probably have the same restriction. Meaning that if Matt ran his rig entirely through MIDI commands, Chris couldn't.
StandYourGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 05:16 PM   #55
Phill
 
Phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06 December 2003
Location: Cornwall
Age: 32
Facebook icon Flickr icon
i hate that idea. it would make there shows even more controlled, scripted and stale than they've already become...
__________________
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:20 PM   #56
Mobius
Part Cardiac
 
Mobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 June 2006
Location: St. Elsewhere
Age: 27
Twitter icon
Just got a quick question, has anyone got the midi file to control the whammy for this to hand? I would like to give it a go.

Edit: Techno wizardry skills and google led me to write my own!
__________________

Last edited by Mobius; 05-07-2012 at 09:32 PM.
Mobius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:26 PM   #57
Mobius
Part Cardiac
 
Mobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 June 2006
Location: St. Elsewhere
Age: 27
Twitter icon
Apologies for the double post. But unsurprisingly really it sounds awful when you play chords, anyone tried it with a Whammy DT/V to see if it fares better?

Its mainly out of curiosity, I've just been using it at an exercise to program a whammy tonight.
__________________
Mobius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 07:56 PM   #58
Samz2
Member
 
Join Date: 21 May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom! View Post
Use Reaper. I must have recommended Reaper about a million times on this board now.
I've been trying to get this working in Reaper for a while, and just haven't managed to get it... Does anyone have a MOTP Reaper file they would be willing to send? I would really appreciate help with this song.
Samz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:25 PM   #59
Mobius
Part Cardiac
 
Mobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 June 2006
Location: St. Elsewhere
Age: 27
Twitter icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samz2 View Post
I've been trying to get this working in Reaper for a while, and just haven't managed to get it... Does anyone have a MOTP Reaper file they would be willing to send? I would really appreciate help with this song.
I've just pm'd you a link to my MIDI file. You'll need to drag the file into a new track and it shall automatically stick it in a MIDI track for you in reaper.
__________________
Mobius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:17 AM   #60
Kueller917
Funniest Muser 2013
 
Kueller917's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 April 2009
Location: US
Age: 23
Twitter icon You Tube icon SoundCloud icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobius View Post
I've just pm'd you a link to my MIDI file. You'll need to drag the file into a new track and it shall automatically stick it in a MIDI track for you in reaper.
Just asking can I have it also please? I've been having trouble getting it to work so I'd like to see if maybe I just did the MIDI track wrong.
__________________
12/11/2009 - NSSN | 4/14/2010 - Oracle | 8/13/2011 - Outside Lands
1/28/2013 - Oracle | 12/15/2015 - Oracle | 12/18/2015 - Staples

Kueller917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)