Go Back   Muse Messageboard > Muse Incl. Off Topic > Kit & Tab

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 47 votes, 4.74 average.
Old 17-11-2009, 10:45 PM   #4126
will261
Member
 
will261's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 August 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Smilie

sorry im sure this has been covered but i cant find it anywhere! can someone give me a fairly detailed response as to why there are only 2 nobs (stab and comp i believe:S) showing when zvex ff is built into guitar? also how hard is it to build in a probe - wah or ff - circuitry wise?

many thanks guys and gals
__________________
zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba
"Oh come on"
will261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2009, 11:19 PM   #4127
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 31
Muse.mu icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by will261 View Post
sorry im sure this has been covered but i cant find it anywhere! can someone give me a fairly detailed response as to why there are only 2 nobs (stab and comp i believe:S) showing when zvex ff is built into guitar? also how hard is it to build in a probe - wah or ff - circuitry wise?

many thanks guys and gals
The rest of the pots are inside the guitar, and are occasionally replaced with trimmers. The reason the others are left inside is because they aren't really used / needed near as much as the other two dials.

As far as the probe goes, the circuit of it is a little bigger than it's non probe counter parts, as there's a little circuit for the antenna (probe plate thing). Also, when/if you cut the copper proximity plate, the size of it will affect how sensitive it is, cos it'll be the same current going into it. ie, if you put the same current into a tiny plate (or a different material too actually) it'll be mega sensitive, so it'd be advisable to keep the plate as close to the original size. Also, because it generates a big electro magnetic field, iirc it can affec/be affected by pickups, so that'd be something to consider when positioning it.

as far as wiring goes, it's basically identical to wiring up a non-probe counterpart.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 05:28 PM   #4128
Phill
 
Phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06 December 2003
Location: Cornwall
Age: 34
Facebook icon Flickr icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil. View Post
The rest of the pots are inside the guitar, and are occasionally replaced with trimmers. The reason the others are left inside is because they aren't really used / needed near as much as the other two dials.

As far as the probe goes, the circuit of it is a little bigger than it's non probe counter parts, as there's a little circuit for the antenna (probe plate thing). Also, when/if you cut the copper proximity plate, the size of it will affect how sensitive it is, cos it'll be the same current going into it. ie, if you put the same current into a tiny plate (or a different material too actually) it'll be mega sensitive, so it'd be advisable to keep the plate as close to the original size. Also, because it generates a big electro magnetic field, iirc it can affec/be affected by pickups, so that'd be something to consider when positioning it.

as far as wiring goes, it's basically identical to wiring up a non-probe counterpart.
there's a trimmer to adjust the sensitivity of the probe
__________________
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 11:12 PM   #4129
will261
Member
 
will261's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 August 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Smilie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil. View Post
The rest of the pots are inside the guitar, and are occasionally replaced with trimmers. The reason the others are left inside is because they aren't really used / needed near as much as the other two dials.

As far as the probe goes, the circuit of it is a little bigger than it's non probe counter parts, as there's a little circuit for the antenna (probe plate thing). Also, when/if you cut the copper proximity plate, the size of it will affect how sensitive it is, cos it'll be the same current going into it. ie, if you put the same current into a tiny plate (or a different material too actually) it'll be mega sensitive, so it'd be advisable to keep the plate as close to the original size. Also, because it generates a big electro magnetic field, iirc it can affec/be affected by pickups, so that'd be something to consider when positioning it.

as far as wiring goes, it's basically identical to wiring up a non-probe counterpart.
wow cheers neil, really useful!!
__________________
zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba
"Oh come on"
will261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 11:50 PM   #4130
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 31
Muse.mu icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by will261 View Post
wow cheers neil, really useful!!
there's a couple of other wiring details that a lot of people omit, like swapping the guitar jack for a stereo one, so you don't waste battery, but most times, people assume you know that.

might add this to the faq. how to properly wire in an effect.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2009, 10:34 PM   #4131
Monkeychild
Member
 
Join Date: 19 March 2003
Location: Hainault in Essex
Age: 35
Send a message via AIM to Monkeychild
Anybody got any recordings of them using the FF to it's full potential?
I haven't bothered checking the rest of these pages.. I did a looong day at work and can't be bothered.
Monkeychild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2009, 02:11 AM   #4132
james90
boring_moderator
 
james90's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 March 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeychild View Post
Anybody got any recordings of them using the FF to it's full potential?
I haven't bothered checking the rest of these pages.. I did a looong day at work and can't be bothered.
the zvex demo video shows a good bit of what it can do.

http://media.zvex.com/FLASH/fuzzfactory/
__________________
6 August 2007 - Madison Square Garden
5 March 2010 - Madison Square Garden
23 October 2010 - Nassau Coliseum
15 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
16 April 2013 - Madison Square Garden
25 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
26 May 2013 - Emirates Stadium
8 May 2015 - Webster Hall
27 January 2016 - Barclays Center
29 January 2016 - Prudential Center
22 July 2017 - Jones Beach
24 July 2017 - Central Park
james90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2009, 01:03 PM   #4133
iwantamanson
Member
 
iwantamanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18 December 2006
Location: Manchester
Age: 29
Send a message via MSN to iwantamanson
Last.fm icon MySpace icon Twitter icon You Tube icon
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottST View Post
fuzz probe problem.

it oscillates beautifully with my telecaster (single coil), but it doesnt at all with parker fly (humbucker in bridge).

it is directly into the guitar, not in a loop or anything, changed battery on the probe and also changed battery on parker's piezo (strangely, if it dies, the guitar dies with it).

still no change.


ideas?
parker is active yeah, the flys have a piezo
iwantamanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:04 AM   #4134
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
Barge Concepts do a variable impedence buffer which may help your active guitar work with the FF
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:25 PM   #4135
Don'tPostThePear
aka. Dániel /accents ftw/
 
Don'tPostThePear's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 May 2009
Location: Hungary
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddatom View Post
Barge Concepts do a variable impedence buffer which may help your active guitar work with the FF
Maybe this?

http://www.muzique.com/lab/pickups.htm


He said it can make a FuzzFace usable after buffers and stuff so maybe this is what he needs.
__________________
HARIBO
Don'tPostThePear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:55 PM   #4136
cheddatom
Member
 
cheddatom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05 June 2003
yeh that would work but you can get them ready made.
cheddatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:02 PM   #4137
G.M.K
Member
 
G.M.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 August 2004
Location: Shannon-Ireland
Played my Fuzz factory for the first time in a while yesterday,(after using guitar rig for a loooooong time) and dammmn it felt good, I love that pedal, guitar rigs great, but not a tap on actually playing through a lovely distortion.
G.M.K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2009, 10:55 PM   #4138
Staz17
Member
 
Staz17's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01 December 2009
Location: Bath/St.Petersburg
How can I get all the 4 knobs on the guitar (without volume) ?
Is there anything hard about it ? Because not many people do, although I find the gate and drive quite usefull
Staz17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2009, 11:19 PM   #4139
Neil.
▲▲△▲△△▼△▽▽▲
 
Neil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 17 January 2008
Location: Ireland; Dublij & Waterfodd
Age: 31
Muse.mu icon
you do it the exact same way you'd put gate and stab on. You just might need to drill extra holes.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Sammy! View Post
GET DRUNK GET STONED GET FUCKED ALL IS WELL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave. View Post
I just accidentallied my pants.
Neil. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2009, 11:52 AM   #4140
joaoteodosio
Member
 
Join Date: 18 August 2006
About the way Matt uses fuzz factory

I bought my fuzz factory a few years ago. But there is something I quite have never understood. If you watch and hear some videos of Muse live, you will realize that when he is playing for example Dead Star, some years ago, in 2004 (when he played it on tour), he is using fuzz factory without squeal (that kind of feedback sound). When I try to cut the squeal off, on my FF, the fuzz sound I get isn't very good. Meaning, the FF only sounds like muse when you ae playing over the squeal. I would like to get a ff setting where I would get a distorted sound like dead star, without the squeal on.

Did I make sense? I am not english lol.

Chears
joaoteodosio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
effects , factory , fuzz , fuzz factory , fuzz probe , guitar , internal fuzz factory , muse , oscillation , probe , twisty kaoss pad , weewee noises , z.vex , zachary vex , zvex


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Follow the Muse Messageboard on Twitter!
'Pornogenic' - this refers to pics of Muse (and their crotch regions)